Unregistered Guest

Question I have a deposition on my claim against the company

I am new to the worker's compensation claim. I dont know what to expect. I have my own attorney, yet I dont know what they baiscally do in a deposition and how a deposition last. Could someone help me out here as to what I need to do in a deposition?

Thank you.

Unregistered Guest

Default Re: I have a deposition on my claim against the company.

First, ALWAYS TELL THE TRUTH!

A deposition is where the attorney who represents your employer's insurance company, will ask you questions, UNDER OATH, about the circustances of how you were injured, PREVIOUS INJURIES and treatment (even if they aren't related to your current work injury), your employment history, and what kind of work duties you performed with your current employer. The length of the deposition usually is about two hours; it may be longer though, depending on how complex your case is.

They will also ask you about any problems that you are experiencing as a result of your work injury. Do NOT EXAGGERATE your injuries! Also, rather than saying you "can't" do something anymore, (unless you REALLY CAN"T DO IT AND DON'T), it is best to say that you avoid certain activites IF THIS IS TRUE.

listen very carefully to each question. If you do not understand a question, just say so. Answer each question as briefly and concisely as you can. Don't "volunteer" information. If your attorney objects to a question, do not answer until your attorney says you canproceed.

ALWAYS TELL THE TRUTH! The last thing you need is to tell the defense attorney all the things you "Can't" do, NEVER do, etc. because you think it might make your case look better. They will have a Private Investigator performing surveillance on you in a hot minute, trying to catch you doing ALL the things that you claim you "can't" do!