North Carolina Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured North Carolina Workers

• North Carolina Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• North Carolina Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: PPD and MMI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Exclamation PPD and MMI

    Ok, I went to my doctors appt. My goodness at the tension in the room when the NCM came in the room. I thought my doc and the NCM were gonna break out the boxing gloves! It was really intense! Anyways, he told her it would be a minimum of 6mos after surgery before I would be released back to work and one year for an MMI rating. Ok, so here's the question...I've been reading about this PPD, will I receive this from the 6mos release time up to the MMI? How does this work?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9,108

    Default Re: Ppd/ Mmi

    no.
    the earliest starting perion for impairment benefits is your mmi date.
    they can't be computed until your impairment rating has be given.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    3,009

    Default Re: Ppd/ Mmi

    PPD for an impairment "rating" assigned by your doctor is your compensation for the injury, should you choose to be compensated by way of the rating. (You get to choose the method that pays you the most money).

    IF you had back surgery, a typical NC rating would be 10%, maybe 15%, unless you had a fusion, which can go as high as 50% although 40% is the "guideline" rating for a fusion.

    One rating percentage point for your back or neck (your "spine") is equal to three weeks of your compensation rate. The comp rate is the amount of the weekly check you get when you are completely out of work. It is supposed to be 2/3 of your "AWW" or average weekly wage for the 52 weeks immediately preceding your injury. All of your wages including overtime and bonuses are supposed to be included in the AWW, and if your employer provides a car or housing as part of your pay, then that is supposed to be included too. INsurance adjusters frequently miscalculate this AWW so you have to check it and make sure it is correct. OF course, adjusters rarely if ever miscalculate it in a way that helps the injured worker.

    IF your AWW is $600, then your comp rate is $400, and a 10% rating to the back or neck is worth 30 times $400 = $12,000. But if you are unable to return to your pre-injury job, or if you have to take a job making less than you made before you were hurt, then there are other ways of calculating what you get---and those ways will almost always get you more money than the rating. And you get to choose the one that pays you the most money. Generally, people should take the rating only if they have returned to work making at least as much as they made before they were hurt (making the AWW or more post-injury).

    When the time comes to settle, if you have questions, contact a lawyer who is a "certified specialist" in work comp law. The NC State Bar web site has a directory that lists all of them across the state.

    Good luck.
    The North Carolina Court of Appeals has held that "In contested Workers' Compensation cases today, access to competent legal counsel is a virtual necessity." Church v. Baxter Travenol Labs, Inc., and American Motorists Insurance Company, 104 N.C. App. 411, 416 (1991).

    Bob Bollinger, Attorney at Law

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Question Re: Ppd/ Mmi

    Bob,
    Let me see if I have this right. If they give me a rating of say 15% for my knee injury and I am receiving $500.00 weekly. Each point of % is equal to 3 weeks. The formula would be 15x3x500? Which would equal to $22,500. Is that right? Not including the time I am due from the date of the injury (12/5) to first payment (2/7) which is about 8 weeks, plus 10% late penalty on that....
    Do I have all this correct?
    I am so glad this forum is up and running. You really have shed a lot of light on this dim situation for me.
    Thank you

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Ppd/ Mmi

    If you receive a 15% permanent partial impairment (PPI) of your knee (leg) and your weekly comp rate is $500, then your rating would be worth $15,000.
    WM ADJ

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    georgia
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Ppd/ Mmi

    I Live In Georgia Have Complete Rupture Of Left Biceps Tendon. This Happened In October 2006. The Wc Docs Waited Too Long To Order Mri No Surgery After 4 Weeks. Took 8 To Dianose. Given 10 Percent Loss Rating. Recieved 10,125 Dollars. Hope This Helps

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Ppd/ Mmi

    was the $10,125.00 all that you recieved for your injury Rat30223?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    georgia
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Ppd/ Mmi

    Yes Dream That Was All I Recieved Thankfully I Was Still Able To Work Through Pain And Still Am.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    3,009

    Default Re: Ppd/ Mmi

    Quote Quoting Ginr812 View Post
    Bob,
    Let me see if I have this right. If they give me a rating of say 15% for my knee injury and I am receiving $500.00 weekly. Each point of % is equal to 3 weeks. The formula would be 15x3x500? Which would equal to $22,500. Is that right? Not including the time I am due from the date of the injury (12/5) to first payment (2/7) which is about 8 weeks, plus 10% late penalty on that....
    Do I have all this correct?
    I am so glad this forum is up and running. You really have shed a lot of light on this dim situation for me.
    Thank you
    NO, that is not quite correct. A spinal rating is based on 300 weeks, so one percentage point to the spine is worth 3 weeks. The knee is part of the "leg" which is worth 200 weeks, so one percentage point rating to the knee is only worth 2 weeks of your compensation rate. A 15% to the knee with a comp rate of $500 would be worth 30 weeks times $500, or $15,000.

    The arm is 240 weeks, the hand is 200 weeks, the foot is 144 weeks, and fingers range from about 25 weeks up to 75 weeks for the thumb. These are all included in the "schedule" set forth in NCGS 97-31, which is available on the NC Industrial Commission web site.

    They normally do not have to pay the 10% penalty unless they pay late following an order or award from the Commission ordering them to pay you. If they filed a Form 60 like they were supposed to you can make that argument, but I am not aware of any cases that held they have to pay the 10% on that basis.
    The North Carolina Court of Appeals has held that "In contested Workers' Compensation cases today, access to competent legal counsel is a virtual necessity." Church v. Baxter Travenol Labs, Inc., and American Motorists Insurance Company, 104 N.C. App. 411, 416 (1991).

    Bob Bollinger, Attorney at Law

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Smile Re: Ppd/ Mmi

    Thank you all for your input. Bob, I really appreciate your knowledge on this.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
 


Find a Lawyer