Iowa Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured Iowa Workers

• Iowa Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• Iowa Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Default Going Back To Work On Narcotics

Hi,

I'm new here and have a question. I am a nurse and was injured last Sat(6/9/07). I have been prescribed narcotics for pain, but the employee health nurse wants me to come to work on an "alternative" assignment. I hate to even drive while on these pain meds let alone try to work(whatever she has in store for me). Can they make me work if I am still taking narcotics for pain? Thanks for any information.

orrn

Default Re: Back to work on narcotics?

I forgot to mention that I am in Iowa. Thanks!

Hey there ORRN, welcome to the forums .

I would think that so long as you are not in a safety sensitive function, answering phones for instance would be okay, scrubbing in for surgery obviously would not. Even charting would raise question IMHO. Is it safe to assume that you are on "light duty restrictions"? I understand your concern about working while taking narcotics and certainly in a medical enviornment. Especially the getting there and back home part.