Texas Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured Texas Workers

• Texas Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• Texas Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Default Can You Get A Workers Comp Settlement In Texas

So, here it is. This is my first time going down this road so I don't know really what to do. I was injured working in Texas back in April. I had to be life flighted and I spent 4 nights in ICU in Dallas. I then spent 3 more weeks in the hospital. I suffered a broken pelvis and severe shoulder damage. I had to get a huge metal plate inserted into my pelvis and I still have another surgery scheduled for my shoulder but the doctor says he wants to me start walking a little better before he does that surgery because I won't be able to move my arm for 6 months. I just now stopped using a walker. Workers comp is paying me 640 dollars a week but I was just wondering about what kind of settlement I would be getting out of this. I called an attorney and she said that workers comp no longer offers settlements in Texas but I get the feeling she was just giving me the run around so I plan on calling another one in the morning. Any advice?

Default Re: Can You Get A Workers Comp Settlement In Texas

Attorney is right...no settlement...you will be entitled to your weekly checks for up to 104 weeks (depending on your ability to return to work and whether or not you reach "Maximum Medical Improvement")

After that, you may be entitled to "Impairment Income Benefits" if you have any permanent impairment....

There may be more benefits to which you are entitled, but there won't be a typical "settlement" such as in a car wreck case, etc.

I Have been on wc for 16yrs and they would not cover my sugery,just meds., now i am closing the acct with my lawer.i am permanent disabled