Alaska Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured Alaska Workers

• Alaska Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• Alaska Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Question Claiming Worker's Comp for a Cumulative Injury

On Oct. 21,2004 I woke in the morning in severe pain & couldnt move from my neck to my hips.
    I have been a trucker for 16 yrs. At the time I had just been laid off on Oct. 12th. The type trucks are dump trucks here in Alaska. Prolonged sitting for hours and bouncing over rough roads unpaved or on dirt job sites.
    My lower back & hips have been hurting chronic for almost 3 yrs. Never diagnosed as anything deffinately yet I have medication & injections monthly.
    I feel it is caused from my career as a truckdriver. Specifically since woking in construction for the last 8 yrs driving dump truck. I also feel its piriformis syndrome which I am unable to find or get referal to a qualified doctor.
    Since it is not diagnosed can I file workmans comp ? As a career disability?
    I have never had back problems or any type of workers comp.
    All the medical bills and not being able to sit in the truck anymore has broke me. Not having a doctor who knows what hes doing or specializes in the spine up here in Fairbanks is terrible. Im at my end.
    My doctor doesnt diagnose me yet injects me in areas he wants to "try" & see if it works to releave pain. I feel he is milking my insurance. When my ins. ran out he treated me like he didnt know me. When I regained insurance he immediately wanted to do more injections. Still without knowing what was wrong.
    Any help would be appreciated.

Default Re: Can I file WC? Dr. milking my Ins.

http://labor.state.ak.us/wc/wc-brochure.pdf

Alaska has a 2 yr time limit for filing claims. If you haven't worked since 2004 it's too late.