Ohio Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured Ohio Workers

• Ohio Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• Ohio Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Thread: Bulging Discs

Default Bulging Discs

i had fusion at c6 c7 have had nothing but trouble since. i stated for long time pain was worsening. recent mri shows bulging discs at c4 c5 is this something common that happens years after this type of injury and surgery? my case is still opened but since being at mmi i had to wait till medicare kicked in to have tests and treatment done. thanks

Default Re: Bulging Discs

Cat:

I am not a doctor, but I see this again and again in my clients. It is very common to develop problems at the disc level above where one has a fusion, both in the cervical and lumbar spine. Your doctor should put together a narrative report stating that the C4-5 bulge developed by way of flow-through as a result of the fusion at C6-7 (which was authorized and directed to treat an allowed condition in your claim), and you or your attorney should file a motion seeking the allowance of the C4-5 bulge.

If your motion is granted, all of the bills that medicare paid should be submitted for reimbursement by the Bureau or the self-insuring employer. You will also be eligble for temporary total benefits and an increase in your permanent partial disability award.

Hope this helps.

-- DB