Default Tennis Elbow and WCI

My workers compensation claim was made in the State of: GA

I have been working at my job for about 9 months now and sometime after i started i began to have pain near my elbow that shot straight down my arm. I had never experienced this before so i thought it was just sore muscles but when i looked up on the internet what the pain might be, i found out it was tennis elbow. I work in warehouse picking products to be shipped for 10hrs a day, now i have gotten to the point where picking things up causes me pain. It has affected my job production and doing my job has become difficult.

What advice i need is should i say something to my job or should i go to my doctor and speak to a lawyer? I just don't wish to go through all the hassle that people have gone through dealing with workmans comp Ins. I do not wish to lose my job and I can't afford to be out of work. I do not know what to do. Some people may say to look for different type of work but it's hard to find a job here where i can get paid what i do make. any suggestions anyone? please help.

I shall be leaving to work here soon and starting another painful day at work.

Default Re: Tennis Elbow and WCI

neecie,
    WC laws vary by state, and are specific...

As a rule, if you have sustained a injury at work you are required to report this to your ER/employer. It is not the EE/employee option to treat through the WC system or on their own IF this is a work related injury/illness.

You will be seen by their doctor, as usually the ER has the opportunity to control the medical during the first 30 days (sometimes longer) The ER/IC has a right to this.

Even IF your injury is partly due to a pre-exsisting condition/illness, which the ER/IC will claim due to your short employment period, they cannot 'apportion' the medical treatment to this injury.