New Jersey Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured New Jersey Workers

• New Jersey Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• New Jersey Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Social Security and Workers Comp Settlement

Since Social Security offsets any income dervied from Workers Comp I only get SS during the summer because I'm a teacher and do not receive my WC benefits during the summer.
    My Social Security case worker intimated to me that when the time comes to reach a settlement, be careful of how it's worded because it could hold off any Social Security payments to me over a lenghty time. She kind of hinted without coming right out and telling me how it could be done, but a settlement could be worded in a way that I could continue my SS benefits.

Does anyone know how this could be done. Is it something in the way the settlement is worded, is it up to the judge, how can this be done?

My SS isn't enough to sustain me as I am a single mother with two children.

Also what is the average type of settlement? What can they range from? I hurt my leg and back, have had two surgeries and I am implanted with spinal cord stimulator. I am in my mid 40s and the chance of being able to work is nil (that comes from 3 different Independent Medical Examiners). The fact that I have been almost house bound for 2 years is depressing enough, I just don't know how I'm going to be able to keep my house and support my family with the situation as it currently is.

A decent settlement plus SS gives me a little hope that we won't become homeless. The horror stories you read on these boards are really scaring me.

Thank you in advance to anyone who either has been through this or knows the system.

Default Re: Social Security/Workers Comp Settlement