Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Unhappy Harassment? Retaliation?

My workers compensation claim was made in the State of: OR

I have received such great advice from the folks in this forum, unfortunately I need to come back and ask for more. So, thanks in advance and please bear with me, this is kind of long.

After a six month WC claim, I returned to work on December 1st. My employer was supportive of my time off, paid me and had my position waiting when I returned. I had an injury to my knee brought on by pushing an overloaded cart with mismatched, cracked wheels. I am a finish carpenter for a very large organization.

My supervisor, on the other hand, has been a nightmare.

I have a full release. Both my doctor and my physical therapist have stated that although I can do my job, I am still weak and it will take a period of time for me to get to full strength. This point was brought up at a "return to work" meeting with my supervisor, a HR representative, my WC case worker and my physical therapist. At this meeting my supervisor stated, in front of everyone, that HE would be my new phyiscal therapist and would make sure that I pushed my work cart everywhere I go in the hospital. My actual PT spoke up and said that he had to look at my injury much like you would a knee or ankle injury to a long distance runner. That it would take time for me to heal fully and that I would know my limitations and could manage what I could and could not do. He further stated that from time to time there might be something I would need assistance with. My supervisor heard that and agreed with it, stating "we are just glad to have her back".

Since I have been back, I have only asked for assistance once and have been doing my job at the same level of skill and quality that I did before my injury. I still have flare-ups and I still feel some level of discomfort daily, but both my doctor and PT said to expect that.