Illinois Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured Illinois Workers

• Illinois Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• Illinois Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default FCE After L4/5 Fusion

Hey, i had some questions maybe you guys could help.

I had a fusion done at L4/5 with 4 screws and 2 rods on 5-6-08, did months of PT and was sent to work hardening. about 1 month ago

I struggled with the work hardening and the therapist stopped it and said I should see my surgeon. They were affraid it was going to make my back worse, after 2 weeks it was stopped

My surgeon said I would have permanent restrictions and should find a new line of work. I am a Building engineer, and my work is Med./Heavy in terms of pyhsical abilty. and sent me for a FCE

Well today I did the FCE and was in alot of pain lifting 50lbs. my heart rate was upto 151. but the therapist said I was at med. lifting abilty (50lbs. ocassionaly and 25lbs frequently)

I found this hard to believe with the amount of pain I was in!

Does the surgeon take this into consideration?, or is this my final restriction? I don't believe I can lift 50lbs. occasionaly at work, I had to lay down during the Fce because of the pain!

Thanks

Default Re: FCE After L4/5 Fusion

pain is very subjective; the FCE results are as well but they are a basis to help negotiate the amount additional benefits. If you case is litigated your atty will bing up those issues.

Thanks for your response, My question is will my restrictions be soley based on the FCE, or does my surgeon have a say so in it?

work restrictions are physican imposed.

Thanks for the quick response. So the physican only uses the FCE as a basis? What if he thinks my restrictions are greater the the FCE? I am wondering because I am still in alot of pain from the FCE on Tuesday after lifting 50lbs.