Ohio Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured Ohio Workers

• Ohio Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• Ohio Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Default Permanent Restrictions

My workers compensation claim was made in the State of: Ohio. I'm new here and placed this in the Ohio forum first. Please forgive me if this is a duplicate post:

I worked as a typist and had bilateral carpal tunnel release surgery a while back. My doctor released me back to work with "permanent restrictions" including 4-6 hour work days. I am receiving wage loss to fill in the gap between what I used to make and what I make now on those restrictions, with a different employer. What does "permanent restrictions" imply? I am starting massage therapy next week for continued problems.

Also, I am hoping to get further input here regarding why I must return to my employer of record when there are others that can meet my restrictions. My employer "assumed that I would return to them upon release since they are the ones paying for the workers comp claim." (Straight from the horse's mouth in Human Resources.) They started sending me equipment that I did not request or know about for a start date that they chose! I feel like I am being forced back to a place that I don't want to go. I don't trust them. I am reading horror stories where employees have returned to work for previous employers and ended up being laid off or fired and losing their WC benefits. I read in Ohio workers comp law that the employer is required to furnish me with the job offer in writing including pay, hours, etc. They did not do this. I am happy where I am presently working. Don't I get a say? What am I not understanding here?

I don't have an attorney...yet.

Default Re: Permanent Restrictions

What does "permanent restrictions" imply?