California Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured California Workers

• California Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• California Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Exclamation Forced Medical Retirement

Hi all. I need some help. I have been working for 25 years and I recently suffered from a Heart Attack. ( my first work comp claim in 25 years)Because of my profession this is covered by worker comp. So I am sure I will get coverage. But I am very scared of them retiring me. I had a friend, after suffering from the same, went to work only to get call up front and was told he now he was now medically retired. He didn't have a say at all.

If this happens to me how does it work? Will I lose all my retirement I payed into for 25 years and get a little piece of crap retirement check from State Comp? I only have 3 years before I actually retire with 85 to 90% of my pay.

Can some please explain this to me? Thank you.
    Last edited by Trigger; 03-19-2009 at 04:10 PM.

Default Re: Forced Medical Retirement

So Police or Fireman?

My guess is you are a Union Member? I think the question you are asking may be covered by your collective bargaining agreement. It is likely an Employment Law question more than a WC question.

You may also be eligible for benefits others are not...http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/di...file=4850-4856 read through the provisions in that link.

It does sound like a civil service job/profession.
    A medical retirement is based on medical evidence, and not the decisions of your supervisors....