Ohio Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured Ohio Workers

• Ohio Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• Ohio Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Exclamation Can I Get a Lump-Sum Settlement

I would like to start off by saying that I am a Correctional Officer in Ohio and I make 16.72 an hour. I was injured Restraining an inmate in 02-06-09. My injury was video taped, and filled all the proper documentation that day for a workers comp claim.
    I herniated 2 disks with 1 other bulging disks ready to herniate with severe nerve pain shooting down my right leg causing my right foot to go numb. I had an MRI done later that month that showed 2 severe herniated disks and 1 bulging. I am currently on OIL which is Occupational Injury leave and I get that for 6 months and then Workers Comp takes over.

Soon after my MRI, I had my first emergency room visit due to unbearable nerve pain through my lower back down my right leg. I am on so much pain medicine it's unbelievable and I am unable to sleep, walk or sit due to horrible pain. This has been extremely hard on me and my family. Since my injury I have been off work and my injury has worsened traumatically with a total of 3 (so far) emergency room visits due to unbearable back/and nerve pain. Workers Comp has not yet given me any treatment for my condition but to talk with surgeons and it has been 4 months now.