California Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured California Workers

• California Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• California Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Thread: Hand Injury

Default Hand Injury

Last August (2009), I injured my left hand at work and received stitches which resulted in several workers comp clinic (therapy) visits. Eventually, it got to a point where my hand had improved and I was released for "regular work" despite the fact that I still was not at 100%. To this day. I am not able to make a complete fist with this hand and have never gained full strength, either. I am a construction worker by trade and this situation has effected my ability to properly grip and hold heavy tools and equipment like I used to. I fear that the effects are permanent. I am still able to perform my job but with adjustments in the way I handle objects with that hand. If it makes a difference, I am a California resident, also. I don't feel that further rehab will do anything to improve my hand. Am I entitled to a cash settlement based on my situation?

Thanks in advance.

Default Re: Hand Injury

under the old permanent rating schedule a soft tissue injury like yours there
    would be some pd payments.. and your injury would rated differently

under the current schedule put in place by governor arnold an injury like
    yours is an unlikely possibility now, not impossible because you do have
    problems with your hand but, the rating with the new guides call for
    a much worse/more strict measure for disability...

i am not one of the experts here but i think i gave you the idea, one of them
    or more will explain it much better than i.............pv

Default Re: Hand Injury

There is no scheduled loss of use rating in Calif comp.