California Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured California Workers

• California Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• California Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Default Injured at Work While Holding Two Jobs

Hello all, I work two jobs, one at a coffee shop and also as a server. I injured my should, they think rotator cuff, at the coffee shop and was placed on workers comp. I am currently getting paid for my normal amount of hours that I worked at the coffee shop. My questions is should the workers comp also cover my second job as a server. If they do cover that job will they also pay me for my tips since that is how I make my living? Please let me know if you can help. Thanks a lot.

Default Re: Two Jobs

welcome...

if the injury was caused by the higher paying job i do believe income from
    both would be used to determine two thirds 66% of the gross wages

tips would be included providing you can show proof of the amounts you
    receive on a weekly basis.........monthly......yearly

there is more to this stuff than what i have said here,,but this gives you
    something......
    the senior members here will give you more info....

until then you can use the link above to ca w/comp resources for more
    info.....

If the injury occured at the higher paying or lower paying job does not matter. TTD is calculated on your AWW/Average Weekly Wage as reported by your employER/s. If you disagree with the AWW, and you can support a higher amount, you'd be entitled to the highest rate your AWW can support.

If the tips are not included in your AWW...meaning not reported for tax purposes, you wouldn't be able to prove you rec'd those dollars for TTD purposes.