California Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured California Workers

• California Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• California Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Unhappy Assaulted at Work by Customer

I work as a shift manager for well-known national company. The store I am employed by is open 24hrs a day. I work the overnight shift so I can attend physical therapy (which is only available during normal business hours). Early yesterday morning, I was abiding by company policy and CA state law by declining to sell tobacco products to two 18-25 year-old hispanic males who appeared to be gang members. Were it any other type of merchandise, I would have simply let them take/steal the product so I could stay safe. But, knowingly giving the tobacco products to someone you believe may be under 18 is illegal. I was polite, but firm. One of them hit me extremely hard in the face. I stayed to complete the 7 hours left on my shift because none of my coworkers were awake to come assume my duties. There was substantial bleeding from and around my eye. I received emergency medical care about 12 hours after the incident. X-rays revealed no fractures, but I am expected to do a follow-up exam with a company-sponsored physician (i.e. one who may be in bed with my employer's claims administration company).