California Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured California Workers

• California Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• California Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Default What Are the Steps of a Workers Comp Case

Hey guys. I'm a newbie here and a newbie to injury as well

I'm trying to figure out the steps I should take.

I had my car accident in April. My employer never sent me a claim form and I haven't filled one out yet (I moved to Ohio to stay w/ my sis while getting rehab and figuring out my situation).

My employer sent me a form last month saying: we'll give u 1800 dollars -- fill out this form so we won't be liable. My injuries are pretty bad and this is nowhere near the $$ it will cost me.

So here are the steps I'm taking right now.

1. Fill out a claim form and send it to my employer and insurance company
    2. Fill out an adjudication of claim & send it to employer and court (the worker's comp office said to do this just to get myself in the system and in case I have to go to court later on-- it looks like my employer is going to cause me trouble). Plus they said this shows I'm serious about the claim.
    3. Wait

So here are my questions (if anyone can help )
    1. Do these steps make sense ? Are there other steps I need to take ?
    2. Do u think I'm going to have problems bcs my late filing of my claim?
    3. When do I send them info about medical costs ? And when should I send the P&S report ? Should I send a letter saying "the 1800 can't cover my costs. These are my costs and this is what I want you to pay." If so, when should I send it ?

Any advice would be much appreciated ? Thank in advance

One more question: When do you usually begin settlement negotiations? I've noticed a lot of sample letters online to send to employers proposing a settlement amount. Should I send the claim form and wait ? Or should I send a letter right away ?