California Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured California Workers

• California Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• California Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Default Msc Workers Comp Hearing This Week After Insurance Company Denied My Claim

I have an MSC hearing this week. I was injured when I slipped and fell on a wet floor where I bartended. Thought it was just a muscle pull and didnt file a workers comp claim. a week after I fell, I was laid off. I was told I could still file a workers comp claim, so I did. Now the insurance company said I was a disgruntled employee and denied my treatment and claim. When they were treating me, I had an MRI done (which showed a herniated disk) and an epidural.

What will happen at this hearing and do I have a case, since I didnt file until after they laid me off because of my injury?

Default Re: Msc Workers Comp Hearing This Week After Insurance Company Denied My Claim

it's an informal conference between the parties to discuss the issues and how the parties wish to proceed to resolve them.

you have year to file.
    whether you are/were disgruntled or not has no bearing on whether there was an injury at work.

it depends on what evidence they have that it didn't happen.
    I assume there was one witness that says it did --you.

this happens all the time and gets them no where.
    make sure your atty files for penalty--10% on all benefits.

also consider making a fraud report.
    any one making false statements in order to receive or DENY benefits is liable.
    http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0300-fraud/

if you were fired for reporting an injury you also can file for increased benefits for discrimination.

throw the whole book and a couple of supplements at them.

Default Re: Msc Workers Comp Hearing This Week After Insurance Company Denied My Claim