California Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured California Workers

• California Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• California Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    263

    Default Mileage Reimbursement Rules

    Can I file for mileage reimbursement for having to gain an attorney because CA wont provide medical services as stated in PR-2 report from PTP and from PQME report? How about depositions and DOR court appearances? What about travel to different stores to pick up creams for pain and Alieve? What can and can not be mileage reimbursed according to WC laws?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9,109

    Default Re: Mileage Reimbursement Rules

    allowed transportation expenses are listed under labor code 4600
    http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/di...le=4600-4614.1
    of course you can always file for any expenses you want and leave it for the judge to decide.
    Last edited by .SH; 08-27-2011 at 10:35 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    18,045

    Default Re: Mileage Reimbursement Rules

    Can I file for mileage reimbursement for having to gain an attorney because
    Mileage to/from your atty office?
    No... no one is forcing you to get an attorney, or litigate your claim.
    What can and can not be mileage reimbursed according to WC laws?
    Mileage is paid for medically necessary trips, and/or depostions. That's it. Not even for travel to a WCAB hearing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    800

    Default Re: Mileage Reimbursement Rules

    I ferreted out the particular paragraph that applies, so you don't have to read volumes to find it:

    Regardless of the date of injury, "reasonable expenses of
    transportation" includes mileage fees from the employee's home to the
    place of the examination and back at the rate of twenty-one cents
    ($0.21) a mile or the mileage rate adopted by the Director of the
    Department of Personnel Administration pursuant to Section 19820 of
    the Government Code, whichever is higher, plus any bridge tolls. The
    mileage and tolls shall be paid to the employee at the time he or she
    is given notification of the time and place of the examination.

    Doesn't look like they'd pay you for a run to CVS or Rite-aid, though. Of course, I haven't read the whole statute, but that's the only section I could find that addresses mileage.

    And, as BvIA said, nobody is going to reimburse you for mileage to visit with an attorney - wouldn't make sense - it's not medically necessary.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    339

    Default Re: Mileage Reimbursement Rules

    Quote Quoting LeglEgl View Post
    I ferreted out the particular paragraph that applies, so you don't have to read volumes to find it:

    Regardless of the date of injury, "reasonable expenses of
    transportation" includes mileage fees from the employee's home to the
    place of the examination and back at the rate of twenty-one cents
    ($0.21) a mile or the mileage rate adopted by the Director of the
    Department of Personnel Administration pursuant to Section 19820 of
    the Government Code, whichever is higher, plus any bridge tolls. The
    mileage and tolls shall be paid to the employee at the time he or she
    is given notification of the time and place of the examination.

    Doesn't look like they'd pay you for a run to CVS or Rite-aid, though. Of course, I haven't read the whole statute, but that's the only section I could find that addresses mileage.

    And, as BvIA said, nobody is going to reimburse you for mileage to visit with an attorney - wouldn't make sense - it's not medically necessary.
    Nope you don't get mileage to visit with attorney. You can get mileage for going to CVS or Rite-Aide, or any other pharmacy for that matter, as long as it is to pick up a prescription.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    18,045

    Default Re: Mileage Reimbursement Rules

    or any other pharmacy for that matter, as long as it is to pick up a prescription.
    ...actually, you can get double mileage on this... one trip for leaving off the Rx... one for picking it up... many IW don't realize this... and the CA is certainly not going to offer it...not at 55 -cents/mile...LOL..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9,109

    Default Re: Mileage Reimbursement Rules

    Quote Quoting LeglEgl View Post
    I ferreted out the particular paragraph that applies, so you don't have to read volumes to find it:

    Regardless of the date of injury, "reasonable expenses of
    transportation" includes mileage fees from the employee's home to the
    place of the examination and back at the rate of twenty-one cents
    ($0.21) a mile or the mileage rate adopted by the Director of the
    Department of Personnel Administration pursuant to Section 19820 of
    the Government Code, whichever is higher, plus any bridge tolls. The
    mileage and tolls shall be paid to the employee at the time he or she
    is given notification of the time and place of the examination.

    Doesn't look like they'd pay you for a run to CVS or Rite-aid, though. Of course, I haven't read the whole statute, but that's the only section I could find that addresses mileage.

    And, as BvIA said, nobody is going to reimburse you for mileage to visit with an attorney - wouldn't make sense - it's not medically necessary.
    legal:
    semi-good job but california makes it more complex then that.
    the DPA has issued rules (buried in government code)that makes comp mileage equal to IRS allowed business rate.
    and there is caselaw that support mileage for medications.
    I don't have the cite off hand.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    18,045

    Default Re: Mileage Reimbursement Rules

    the DPA has issued rules (buried in government code)that makes comp mileage equal to IRS allowed business rate.
    even with the IRS changes...the DPA is not always quick to make the change..and its' never retroactive. Nor automatic...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9,109

    Default Re: Mileage Reimbursement Rules

    baloney. wrong on both counts.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    800

    Default Re: Mileage Reimbursement Rules

    Quote Quoting .SH View Post
    legal:
    semi-good job but california makes it more complex then that.
    the DPA has issued rules (buried in government code)that makes comp mileage equal to IRS allowed business rate.
    and there is caselaw that support mileage for medications.
    I don't have the cite off hand.
    That's why I put in the disclaimer that I did - "Of course, I haven't read the whole statute ....."

    I've already shot myself in the foot a couple times here, and I don't like the limp.

    So, what you're saying is that CALIF must pay the new IRS mileage rate ? I wonder now if that applies in Georgia. Hmmmm.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-18-2011, 03:19 PM
  2. Mileage Reimbursement
    By Axle in forum Kentucky
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2010, 11:33 AM
  3. Reimbursement Rules and Regs
    By davet8 in forum California
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-18-2009, 04:20 AM
  4. Mileage reimbursement
    By anonymous in forum Florida
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 07:33 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2006, 05:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
 


Find a Lawyer