California Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured California Workers

• California Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• California Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Default Carpal Tunnel and Workers Comp

Hello everyone, my first post here. ok i have been doing the same job for 10+ years now for the last 6 years i was paid cash and given a 1099 form at the end of the year, 6 months ago i got hired by another company (same industry) a few weeks ago i started feeling pain in my wrist and forearm (i had never had these sympthoms before) went to my doctor and was diagnose with carpal tunnel and said it was work related and should file a workers comp report. my question is i know wc pays 2/3 of your last year earnings since i have only been in the company for 6 months, can i include my 1099 earnings from the other employer? and also, can wc fight that,well i know they can but would they have a valid reason? thank you all!!!

Default Re: Carpal Tunnel and Workers Comp

Interesting question, but a bit complicated. I'm sure our resident "experts" in Calif. WC will be helping you soon.

First of all, the injury you have suffered is attributable to your most immediate employment with the new employer. The claim would be filed with that employer.

First, let me throw some legal stuff at you. The amount of control the employer has over the worker is a primary determination of whether a worker is an employee or an independent contractor. If you did work exclusively for the one employer, and reported ONLY to that employer, chances are you'd be able to burst the bubble of being an Independent Contractor and prove that you were an employee. Another element is if the employer directed you as to what and how to accomplished assigned tasks and when they were due to be complete, then you had no choice as to deciding how to get the result - you were NOT an independent contractor.