Tennessee Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured Tennessee Workers

• Tennessee Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• Tennessee Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Default On the Job Car Accident

Hello,

I was in a car accident this past week where I was rear ended by another party. I am a contractor that is working for a company that employs many of it's staff through a staffing company. Technically, I get my paycheck every week from the staffing company. I also collect health insurance and have workers comp through the staffing company.

So, I was driving the company's truck (not the staffing company) and got rear ended. I went to the ER and xrays turned up negative but i still have pain in my neck and back.

I do not have an attorney and I am pretty confused on what is going to happen next. Will I need to talk to the guy's insurance company who rear ended me? Will there be an injury settlement with workers comp and with the insurance of the guy who hit me?

I am able to return to work and I don't want to jeopardize my job so I want to make sure I don't piss off the company I am working for. I just want to make sure I am getting something to help me with bills.

Any recommendations?

Default Re: On the Job Car Accident

You have two potential claims. One, against the driver that hit you. We call that a "third party claim." And secondly, you can also file a work comp claim. The work comp claim will get handled a lot faster especially on the medical side. I suggest you talk to a lawyer (get a free consultation) who has experience with both types of claims. If you are in the Knoxville or Eastern Tenn area I know a guy there who can help, just send me a PM for his name.