Michigan Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured Michigan Workers

• Michigan Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• Michigan Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Default When is First Check Coming

hello my name is red and im a married father of 4 girls, wait it gets worse, i have been a carpenter for 15 yrs without a single injury until the 2nd of jan this year when i almost cut my hand of with a circular saw, it was the worst injury i have ever had and im scared i will not regain the use of my right hand as i am right handed. my wife doesnt work and im the only income in the house hold. it has been 15 days now and my adjuster said my claim is accepted but he hasnt even mailed the check yet and grocerys are running out, when should i expect my first check? i do plan to retrn to work soon as i can me and my boss talk every other day and are friends, is there a time period that they have to send it? i live in michigan thank you

Default Re: When is First Check Coming

Spend some time reading about the WC system -in MI...http://www.michigan.gov/wca
    There is a waiting period where benefits are not paid... you have to be off 7 days...your TTD will begin on the eighth. Those checks generally begin 2 weeks after that, and every 2 weeks thereafter. If you are off 2 weeks or longer, those TTD benefits are picked up from the first day of wage loss.
    When and for how long are benefits paid?

Answer:
    Section 311 of the Act provides that no compensation is paid for an injury which does not last for at least one week. If the disability lasts beyond one week, the worker is entitled to benefits as of the eighth day after the injury. If a disability continues for two weeks or longer, then the worker is entitled to be paid compensation for the first week of disability.