California Worker's Compensation - Help For Injured California Workers

• California Worker's Compensation - Quick facts about worker's compensation law, benefits and lawyer fees.

• California Worker's Compensation Resources - Links and resources for injured workers.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Cannot Perform My Modified Duties

Hello,

Im an automotive mechanic and hurt my back 3 weeks ago and now my manager is making me work on modified duties which includes moving vehicles, shuttle driver duties, performing road test. The workers comp doctor diagnose my lower back as a sprain/strain lumbar but I feel that it's more serious than that because they already submitted a request for an MRI. I have no choice but to agree with the return-to-work offer because I can get terminated and loose workers comp benefits if I decline. Im currently taking pain medication (acetaminophen w/cod/) 1-2 tablets every 4 hours. I cannot sit or stand longer than 30 minutes because of the pain. I start my modified duty tommorow and Im afraid my back will hurt so much that I may not be able to complete my task. Can I get fired If I can't complete my task? Can you please give me some advice.

My doctors work restrictions are: no climbing and frequent change of position as tolerated. Sit as needed, limited standing or walking, no stooping and bending. No kneeling or squatting.

Thanks in advance.

Default Re: Cannot Perform My Modified Duties

Quote Quoting challenger12 View Post
    Hello,