Michigan Workers Compensation Law

Michigan State Flag

Michigan Workers Comp Quick Facts

The following represent the state of the law as of January 1, 2006. Please note that worker's compensation law can be complex and these laws and policies are subject to amendment at any time. If you need help with a worker's compensation issue, please consult a licensed attorney.

Is Worker's Compensation Compulsory? Yes

Are Waivers Permitted? Yes

Numerical Exceptions: 3

Choice of Physician: Employer makes the initial selection of physician. After a period of time specified by state law, the employee has free choice.

Waiting Period For Comp Benefits After Injury: 7 days

Compensation is retroactive if disability continues for what period of time from the date of injury? 2 weeks

Attorney Fees Permitted: 30%, rule; up to time of trial, 15% first $25,000; 10% balance on redemption settlements. 10% on voluntary payment settlements

----------

Injured Worker Forums

We offer a very popular injured worker forum, which includes a section specifically for injured Michigan workers. Share your experiences with other injured workers, and get their suggestions for improving your medical, personal and spiritual wellbeing.

Injured Worker Stories

Hundreds of injured workers have shared with us their experiences with the worker's compensation system. Visit the collection of injured worker stories, including those by injured Michigan workers. Learn from workers who have been through this before you.

Injured Worker Links

We offer an extensive collection of workers compensation links to valuable online resources. Visit our links organized by state, by topic, and links to resources for Michigan injured workers.

Injured Worker Articles

Visit our growing collection of worker's compensation articles, offering political advocacy and practical suggestions for those trying to find their way through the worker's compensation system.


Michigan Workers Compensation • Help For Injured Workers

Workers Comp Help
----------