West Virginia Workers Compensation Law
West Virginia Workers Comp Quick Facts
The following represent the state of the law as of January 1, 2006. Please note that worker's compensation law can be complex and these laws and policies are subject to amendment at any time. If you need help with a worker's compensation issue, please consult a licensed attorney.
Is Worker's Compensation Compulsory? Yes
Are Waivers Permitted? No
Numerical Exceptions: None; Casual employers who employ fewer than 3 employees are exempt and agricultural services who employ fewer than 5 employees are exempt.
Choice of Physician: Employee makes the initial choice of physician.
Waiting Period For Comp Benefits After Injury: 3 days
Compensation is retroactive if disability continues for what period of time from the date of injury? More than 7 days
Attorney Fees Permitted: Attorney fees limited to 20% of claimant's or dependent's award, 208 week limit, statute
Injured Worker Forums
We offer a very popular injured worker forum, which includes a section specifically for injured West Virginia workers. Share your experiences with other injured workers, and get their suggestions for improving your medical, personal and spiritual wellbeing.
Injured Worker Stories
Hundreds of injured workers have shared with us their experiences with the worker's compensation system. Visit the collection of injured worker stories, including those by injured West Virginia workers. Learn from workers who have been through this before you.
Injured Worker Links
Injured Worker Articles
Visit our growing collection of worker's compensation articles, offering political advocacy and practical suggestions for those trying to find their way through the worker's compensation system.
West Virginia Workers Compensation • Help For Injured Workers