anonymous Guest

While in Indianapolis a year ago for a work related training I fell and broke my leg and both ankles. The break in my leg was a spiral fraction and as a result I had to have an operation to have a metal rod inserted as well as pins in the ankle and the knee. Afterwards I had to have both legs in casts, the right one that was broken in a plaster cast the other in a removable cast. I was a social worker in a nursing home which was more than willing to accomodate my needs so I was sent back to work for 4 hrs/day within less than 3 weeks after my surgery.

I was in a wheel chair and while everyone I worked for was terrific in helping out it was difficult at best. The nursing home where I worked was spread out over a large area and my office and the nurses station where I worked were clear on the other side of the building from one another. I showed up for work everyday and did everything I was suppose to.

At this same time my husband was out of work due to being laid off. In August he got a contractual job out of state which we felt he had to take. I was still in a wheel chair but getting around some on crutches. I was still in a tremendous amout of pain and the dr was telling me no more pain killers. At the same time my right leg had not started to mend AT ALL. The dr kept talking about maybe taking out the pins in my ankle to allow contact and to stimulate bone growth but never did it.

Since my husband had to go out of town and we had no family or friends who could help me out and I was very limited as to what I could do on my own I quit my job. I could not see working full time with that kind of pain, no pain management and having to live on my own with no help.