Angry High School Science Lab Negligence

I am a high school science teacher. While I was setting up a lab I had a slip/trip/fall accident and suffered a concussion. I was taken by ambulance to the hospital and admitted overnight for observation. I cannot remember everything about the accident because I was knocked out. Some witnesses think that I slipped in some oil that I was using for the experiment. Some think that I could have slipped in/over something on the floor because our janitors found out that their contracts were not being renewed and just stopped coming to work (lab was a mess). I thought that the stool that I was sitting on collapsed because it is not unusual for a screw that holds up a stool leg (4 legs to a stool) had come unscrewed and the stool leg gave-out and I fell to the floor.

I have told the science chair/maintainance department/administrators that something has to be done about the stools before someone gets hurt for seven years! No one listened to me and now I am the one that is hurt and I am having a very hard time recovering from my concussion.

Is the school liable for negligence? What if I never fully recover from this concussion? Is there a civil suit somewhere in this too?
    Last edited by freddickey; 06-03-2010 at 10:07 PM. Reason: spelling errors

Default Re: High School Science Lab Negligence

[QUOTE= I cannot remember everything about the accident because I was knocked out. Some witnesses think that I slipped in some oil that I was using for the experiment. Some think that I could have slipped in/over something on the floor. I thought that the stool that I was sitting on collapsed because it is not unusual for a screw that holds up a stool leg (4 legs to a stool) had come unscrewed and the stool leg gave-out and I fell to the floor.
    Is the school liable for negligence? What if I never fully recover from this concussion? Is there a civil suit somewhere in this too?[/QUOTE]