Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Comp Claim Process After a Back Injury

Back to School

Ok, new here. In a nut shell:

I injured my back 7 months ago at work (bulged disc, thoracic) and have been off work receiving wc checks. My back got a little better but still stabbing pains, and painful achyness from the minute I wake up even in my sleep, I basically cant sleep without meds very well. I dont know if it will ever get back to normal, but I cant put my life on hold to see how much better it will get.

I am a commercial/industrial electrician, and have decided to go back to school in the event my back stays this way, as it has for months, I can get an education in a 2 year aa degree program that will get me a similar paying "less physically demanding" job. I have not informed my boss, I did however apply for student loan, already registered and accepted into college. (im 35 returning to school) Waiting to make sure I get my student loan.

Question is, will this stop my medical benefits from being paid? Me quitting my job?

Will it hurt my case to tell the adjuster I am returning to school and give my boss 2 weeks notice?

I am so nervous. Going back to school is nerve-wracking, my wife has been a stay at home mom for 5 years, and will go back to work now too. This injury really has turned my life upside down. Worst case that scares me is - will I have to live with this pain forever? ugg!

Sorry for rambling on, I just found this website and it is the first time I have actually been able to vent or ask some questions. I have not contacted a lawyer, plus I thought it would look bad if I did.

Any thoughts would be great. Thanks

Default Re: New Here. Few Questions