Default I Settled My Case Unrepresented (Pro Per) and Had Moderate Success

Hello Workers Comp Forum members,

I like to reflect upon the past year especially around Thanksgiving and on through the end of the year. I found this community forum early in the year (2010) and am so grateful that I did. While I was a newbie (and still am) and shy about posting, when I did decide to post I always got good information, but never took it as gospel, but rather a spring-off point for me to continue educating myself about the W/C process which as we all know is complex and frustrating.

While my case seems a lot less complicated than a lot of members that I read about here, it was still a frustrating, mind-bending, complicated and sometimes down right fraudulent dealing with the Insurance Companies (IC) and especially the Claims Adjusters (CA). I had a total of 7 CA's because they would get so frustrated with me because I would not settle the case via C&R just because they chose to give me erroneous information. This information included; denying medical treatment without cause, employer doctor declaring me MMI 3 days after reading an MRI that took 6 months to get. Employer doctor (who was my PTP for 6 months) not appealing ANY decisions with regards to my medical treatment. And well the list goes on and on.

But each step of the way, I researched, talked to people, bought books, (most importantly one called "What to do if you are an injured worker in California" by Nolo Press) where I learned that when the employer doctor declared me MMI I had the right to request a QME. From that day forward, I was determined to get all the medical care required to at least treat the injury I sustained on the job, without backing down - ever.