Default Lost Fingertip at Work Confused at Where to Start

Today i lost my finger tip on my right index finger, I am a press brake operator and lost it due to a malfunction of the machine. I was taken by ambulance to the ER and i sat there for hours to have them only cover it with cause and give me pain killers and antibiotics. The cut was clean and i had the fingertip with me and im confused as to why they didn't try to reattach the lost tip or anything else such as stitches to stop the bleeding. Something about that seems fishy to me as it is waiting on a doctors appointment that is scheduled on 9/6/11. There is an awful lot of time between the injury and that appointment with nothing being done to the wound itself which has me worried since the cut was completely down to the bone. My job has been great with working with me but with the Labor Day weekend here and no offices open on monday im trying to figure out if im going about this correctly or if i should be talking to a lawyer regarding the lack of action at the ER. Currently looking at not being able to get back to work until at least 9/7/11 if im lucky but that is depending on if i get cleared to work.
    I know that there are compensation payments based on amputations and the severity of them and trying to figure out what im entitled to receive. If anyone has any idea as to what im able to receive that would be great to here from you or if you have other questions ask away i'll try to respond just trying to get through this without loosing too much money. Thanks!

Default Re: Lost Fingertip at Work Confused at Where to Start

the time to figure out your settlement is after you've completed recovery; not before.
    being delayed in an ER while it is frustrating it is not grounds for malpractice.
    you need to have been harmed in some way.
    do you have a medical opinion that the delay was the cause of some level of damage to you?
    when you do then think about talking to a malpractice lawyer.