Default Denied Claim

Hi everyone! I'm new to all this so bear with me please. I was injured 8wks ago on a job I had just started a day earlier.i broke both ankles, one was literally tore off hanging by just meat and skin , broke sternum , and my sacrum in 2 places...I haven't received any kind of benefits whatsoever and I'm bout to be homeless with these bad injuries. My lawyer called today and said wc IC was trying to deny my claim because the guy that hired me said I was an independent contractor because I had my own tools but I wasn't, I was hired on like the other employees. ..I'm just wondering if they can really deny me over this lie.please help me

I broke my sacrum in 2 places , my sternum, and both ankles, one ankle was ripped off hanging from just meat and skin...
    Last edited by done4; 06-10-2017 at 08:15 AM.

Default Re: Denied Claim

You need to prove your not a independent contractor!....If you are, you needed to supply your own WC insurance.....You need to help your lawyer with as much information as possible, or you will have no case!

How would I prove it

Im not totally sure, but a great start is how you have filed with the IRS. https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small...ed-or-employee

Many people go the way of an independent contractor to save money.....But if you overlook things like WC insurance problems just like this arrive....

I honestly was just an employee. ..thank you so much for the info man

Consult and retain a lawyer before you take any further action - let him deal with it

Tony
    Moderator Responses are based on my personal bias, experience and research - They do not represent the views of the admin nor may be accepted in the legal community, always consult an attorney.

Thank you !

Misclassification is a common tactic used to deny benefits, a good lawyer should be able to correct the problem.
    Here's the law that defines the difference between an employee and contractor.