Alaska Workers Compensation Law
Alaska Workers Comp Quick Facts
The following represent the state of the law as of January 1, 2006. Please note that worker's compensation law can be complex and these laws and policies are subject to amendment at any time. If you need help with a worker's compensation issue, please consult a licensed attorney.
Is Worker's Compensation Compulsory? Yes
Are Waivers Permitted? Yes; although officers of for-profit corporations may waive coverage.
Numerical Exceptions: None.
Choice of Physician: Employee makes the initial choice of physician. The employer may establish preferred provider list but must instruct employees that they may choose any provider without regard to inclusion on employer's list.
Waiting Period For Comp Benefits After Injury: 3 days
Compensation is retroactive if disability continues for what period of time from the date of injury? More than 28 days
Attorney Fees Permitted: No fee cap, all fee awards must be compensatory and reasonable," minimum fee is 25% of first $1,000 of benefits awarded and 10% of balance, statute. A one-time consultation fee up to $300 excepted.
Injured Worker Forums
We offer a very popular injured worker forum, which includes a section specifically for injured Alaskan workers. Share your experiences with other injured workers, and get their suggestions for improving your medical, personal and spiritual wellbeing.
Injured Worker Stories
Hundreds of injured workers have shared with us their experiences with the worker's compensation system. Visit the collection of injured worker stories, including those by injured Alaskan workers. Learn from workers who have been through this before you.
Injured Worker Links
Injured Worker Articles
Visit our growing collection of worker's compensation articles, offering political advocacy and practical suggestions for those trying to find their way through the worker's compensation system.
Alaska Workers Compensation • Help For Injured Workers