Oregon Workers Compensation Law
Oregon Workers Comp Quick Facts
The following represent the state of the law as of January 1, 2006. Please note that worker's compensation law can be complex and these laws and policies are subject to amendment at any time. If you need help with a worker's compensation issue, please consult a licensed attorney.
Is Worker's Compensation Compulsory? Yes
Are Waivers Permitted? No
Numerical Exceptions: None.
Choice of Physician: Employee makes the initial choice of physician.
Waiting Period For Comp Benefits After Injury: 3 days (temporary total disability and permanent partial disability.)
Compensation is retroactive if disability continues for what period of time from the date of injury? 4 days (in-patient in hospital receives compensation from date of incapacity)
Attorney Fees Permitted: 25% of increased compensation not to exceed $4,600 (PPD), $12,500 (PTD), $1,500 (temp. disability), rule
Injured Worker Forums
We offer a very popular injured worker forum, which includes a section specifically for injured Oregon workers. Share your experiences with other injured workers, and get their suggestions for improving your medical, personal and spiritual wellbeing.
Injured Worker Stories
Hundreds of injured workers have shared with us their experiences with the worker's compensation system. Visit the collection of injured worker stories, including those by injured Oregon workers. Learn from workers who have been through this before you.
Injured Worker Links
Injured Worker Articles
Visit our growing collection of worker's compensation articles, offering political advocacy and practical suggestions for those trying to find their way through the worker's compensation system.
Oregon Workers Compensation • Help For Injured Workers