Texas Workers Compensation Law
Texas Workers Comp Quick Facts
The following represent the state of the law as of January 1, 2006. Please note that worker's compensation law can be complex and these laws and policies are subject to amendment at any time. If you need help with a worker's compensation issue, please consult a licensed attorney.
Is Worker's Compensation Compulsory? No
Are Waivers Permitted? No
Numerical Exceptions: None; Coverage not mandatory, except for governmental entities and construction contracts for governmental entities.
Choice of Physician: Non-network: Employee chooses a physician from the division's approved doctor list (ADL) and is allowed one change of doctor with division approval. Network: Employee chooses physician from list of network doctors and is allowed one change without approval. Subsequent changes must be approved by network.
Waiting Period For Comp Benefits After Injury: 7 days
Compensation is retroactive if disability continues for what period of time from the date of injury? 2 weeks
Attorney Fees Permitted: 25%, statute
Injured Worker Forums
We offer a very popular injured worker forum, which includes a section specifically for injured Texas workers. Share your experiences with other injured workers, and get their suggestions for improving your medical, personal and spiritual wellbeing.
Injured Worker Stories
Hundreds of injured workers have shared with us their experiences with the worker's compensation system. Visit the collection of injured worker stories, including those by injured Texas workers. Learn from workers who have been through this before you.
Injured Worker Links
Injured Worker Articles
Visit our growing collection of worker's compensation articles, offering political advocacy and practical suggestions for those trying to find their way through the worker's compensation system.
Texas Workers Compensation • Help For Injured Workers